When handling bookings, there's a chance that some participants may need to cancel their booking if they cannot make an event or trip they have already registered for. Only the Project manager has access to cancel a booking, so participants will contact you if they need to cancel. To keep projects up to date and keep booking history (should you need to report on participants or refer back to the booking for any other reason) it's important to understand how to successfully cancel a booking and the consequences of deleting a booking.
WHEN TO CANCEL A BOOKING
- The participant has confirmed that they need to cancel their booking.
- The participant has confirmed that they cannot make the event and no longer needs the booking.
- An event has been cancelled, for instance in the case that there are not enough participants booked on for it to go ahead. In this case, you may need to send an update to those participants (scroll down to "send a cancellation email" to learn more).
- If the participant needs to make changes to their booking, for instance, their personal details or the products that have been booked, then edit booking should be used.
- A cancelled booking cannot be reinstated. A new booking must be made in the event of a participant cancelling and re-booking.
HOW TO CANCEL A BOOKING & SEND A CANCELLATION EMAIL
- Head into Form --> Bookings
- Search for the booking you want to cancel
- Click onto the booking reference to go into booking details
4. Scroll down to the bottom of the page and click CANCEL BOOKING.
This will bring up an email dialog, in which you can choose to send an email to confirm to participants that their booking has been cancelled or you can simply cancel the booking without sending any correspondence.
If the booking was chargeable and non-refundable, and the participant has an outstanding balance, you can insert the [left_to_pay] tag. This will include the participant's outstanding balance within the email with a [pay_now] link which they can access to make payment.
WHAT HAPPENS AFTER THE BOOKING IS CANCELLED
If an email has been sent, then the participant will also receive an updated version of their booking confirmation with "cancelled" status.
The participant's status in Qondor changes to "Cancelled". This status is visible in the booking information section in the participant's Booking Details and in Participants. You can see all cancelled bookings, by filtering on "cancelled" in Bookings.
Any information submitted in the form, booking history and financial history will still be visible in Booking details.
The "edit booking" and the "cancel booking" button will no longer be available to you.
VIEW A LIST OF CANCELLED BOOKINGS 💡
You can create a list of cancelled bookings by heading to Lists. Lists are useful to segment attendee data, so you can easily view the information you need at any time.
WHEN TO USE DELETE BOOKING ❗
"Delete booking" should only be used for TEST bookings. If you delete a booking, you delete all of the booking data as well, and there is no way to retrieve this.